Unexpected visit from the witch

Blah.
Despite not being due to arrive for another 11 days, the witch reared her ugly head this morning. It took me completely by surprise. I usually have a couple of days of absolutely appalling PMT to warn me, but not this time. I have been eating a decent amount of foods containing the B vitamins though, so I’m wondering whether that has something to do with it. For years my Mum has sworn by B vitamin supplements to alleviate PMT. I’ve largely dismissed her to be honest, but maybe there really is something in it. Why is my Mum always right? (I do actually call her “The Oracle” because of this!).
I’ve not noticed as much bloating either, which I’m putting down to my abundant usage of root ginger this week in my cooking and several huge mugs of fennel tea.
I haven’t had epic cravings for chocolate, cheese or carb-laden meals either now I think about it.
I am pretty amazed at how many positives are coming out of following this diet after only 11 days on plan.

For the last few days, I’ve been snacking on “seaweed” like you’d get from a Chinese takeaway. Except, it’s really been some roughly shredded curly kale, heaped onto an oven tray, squirted with fry light and sprinkled with salt, then put into a hot oven for 5 mins (my oven only works on HOT for some reason), then sprinkled with a powder sweetener just as it comes out of the oven. Leave it for a couple of minutes and it goes wonderfully crispy. It is a gorgeous little snack. I leave a bowl in my kitchen and grab a handful every time I wander in there. Or sit down with some to snack on. It is full of iron and calcium, is really tasty and you get the feeling you’re crunching something like crisps but without the fat. Genius.

Long may this positivity last. Honestly, whilst out walking with my little 2 earlier, my knickers kept rolling down. I genuinely think I’ve lost 2lbs this week. I feel like I’ve done half a stone in total. I can’t wait to get on the scales on Wednesday morning and see how I’ve done!

Leave a comment